Do you have PMS? Oh sorry, not Petrol Mentholated Spirit (PMS) or Gas as the case may be that run your cars, generators, and other appliances.

According to William Arid, author of Ditch, Dare, Do: 3D Personal Branding for Executives. “A Personal Mission Statement (PMS) is a critical piece of your brand because it helps you stay focused.” “If you want to be successful, you need to think of yourself as a personal brand,”

Writing one, however, takes introspection. Arid suggests asking yourself, what am I passionate about? What are my values? What makes me great?

“We all have super powers–things we do better than anyone else,” he says, adding that it helps to ask someone else what your talents are. “These things often feel natural to us, but it’s important to see them as being special.”

When you’re ready to write, Arid offers a template that links together three elements: The value you create + who you’re creating it for + the expected outcome.

For Example, my PMS is ” To excel in my chosen career of human endeavour, inspire and motivate others in discovering their potential, service to God and humanity”.

From my PMS above, there are some keywords embedded in it that I will like to briefly discuss in order to help you in writing it.

These keywords are chosen career, inspire and motivate others, discovering their potential, service to God and humanity.

1) CHOSEN CAREER

First of all, introduction! I had a B.Sc degree in Industrial and Labour Relations and a Academic Masters, M.Sc, Industrial Relations and Human Resource Management which means am an IR and HRM person.

By the virtue of employment, am currently working as a Tax Administrator with an Internal Revenue Service agency.

Back to basis, my chosen career is Industrial Relations and Human Resource Management, and Taxation.

My PMS helped me to stay focused on my core-competence area which invariably made me to “Mind My Business” (2MB). How do I “2MB”? Having a well-written PMS, I don’t pop nosed into other people’s chosen career in order to avoid what is a called ” Yahoo’s: The Peanut Butter Manifesto- Spread too thin”

After getting your PMS right, you would avoid the saying of the great man, Winston Churchhill- “You will never reach your destination, if you stop and throw stones at every dog that barks”

In a nutshell, everyday I try to do things that would help me excel in my chosen career and at the long run in my PMS.

2) INSPIRE AND MOTIVATE OTHERS

This is another keyword from my PMS, inspire and motivate others. The keyword helped me in remembering Nigeria Army’s ( Military Police) slogan which says: Examplio Ducemo.

Examplio Ducemo, simply means: You lead by example.
So for me to inspire and motivate others, I must be highly inspired and motivated myself in order to avoid the error of ” Do what I say, not what I do”

This second keyword is not easy to attain and retain always. Why? Am human, am faced with challenges everyday like other people but I got to be strong because I have to ” Practice what I preach!”.

3) DISCOVERING THEIR POTENTIAL

Inspiring and motivating others in discovering their potential is another keyword in my PMS.

Do you know what is meant by potential?

According to Myles Munroe in his book, Uncover your potential defined Potential has dormant ability, reserved power, untapped strength, unused success, hidden talents, capped capability, All you can be but have not yet become, All you can do but have not yet done, how far you can reach but have not yet accomplished. Potential is also unexposed ability and latent power.

Based on the “Exemplio Ducemo” principle, I worked on myself in order to uncover my potentials. I’ve just scratched the surface of this keyword!

4) SERVICE TO GOD AND HUMANITY

Hope am not sounding too religious with the above keyword in my PMS? I don’t know why I wrote it last in my PMS because it comes first in my mind and life.

Service to God and Humanity is not something I can totally explain here, am imploring you to ” Figure it out yourself”! ( A title from one of Harley Chase’s book)

* N.B
What are you waiting for ? Write your PMS and Power the Dream!

Akeem Gbadamosi, M.Sc Industrial Relations and Human Resource Management.

